Mission and History


The Center for Teaching and Learning supports faculty in their roles as teachers, scholars, and lifelong learners through a broad range of professional opportunities. We assist faculty with their use of evidence-based instructional strategies, encourage the integration of innovative educational technologies, and foster the university’s commitment to academic rigor and student success (adopted July, 2017).


The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) was founded as a result of a declaration by the UNC Board of Governors in 1993 that every state university “allocate a portion of its budget for faculty development,” targeting at least some of the funding “for the development of teachers and teaching.” Institutions that did not already have designated teaching and learning centers were advised to establish them. At UNC Asheville, Peg Downes, serving in the role of Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, helped form our present CTL in the 1994-1995 academic year.

The CTL was located in a single office in Ramsey Library for nearly ten years. In 2004, John Myers, Instructional Technology Consultant, officially joined the Center, and operations were moved to a larger space in Highsmith University Union. Four years later, the CTL was relocated to a suite on the second floor of Lipinsky Hall, and a separate unit, Teaching and Learning with Technology Resources (TLTR), opened in Ramsey Library.

In January, 2015, the CTL returned to its original location in Ramsey Library, and in July, 2017, the Teaching and Learning with Technology staff joined the Center for Teaching and Learning, expanding the capabilities of CTL while continuing many of the programs already in place. The Department is housed in a suite on the ground floor, with learning circles and programs held on the main floor in the newly renovated Whitman Room.

Five faculty members have directed the CTL, serving in a half-time capacity while teaching a reduced load in their home academic departments:

  • Fall, 1995 – Fall, 1998: Merritt Moseley, Professor of Literature & Language
  • Spring, 1999 – Spring, 2002: Chuck Bennett, Professor of Physics
  • Fall, 2002 – Summer, 2004: Pat McClellan, Assistant Provost for Academic Administration
  • Summer, 2004 – Summer, 2010: Bruce Larson, Professor of Economics
  • Summer, 2010 – present: Melissa Himelein, Professor of Psychology